top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrekking Downunder

Travelling Family | Six Months Expense Budget

6 month budget full time travelling family

It takes a lot of love and dedication to spend 24/7 with your family, especially in a small 18ft van. But we’ve done it, for 6 months now and counting. This last 184 days of our new lifestyle have been utterly incredible.

Because this is our permanent lifestyle and we need to remain accountable for our finances and we pride ourselves in keeping a clear, transparent and real budget. We choose to share our budgets as a way to help guide others thinking of travelling, to get an understanding of what kind of expenses they can expect. We add it all in so if your thinking of a 6 month trip or more you can plan out a good starting budget or get some clever ideas on how to keep your costs down.

We make sure our budget accounts for all those background costs that we find are often omitted, such as insurances, regular expenses and bills. It helps us remain accountable for any extra incidentals, eating out and luxury purchases we want to make, as well as know if we need to settle for a week or so to work.

We are so excited to have managed to have kept an average budget of below $880/wk over the 6 month period, which is pretty amazing for a family of 5!

First 6 Months Expense Budget


First 6 Months 🗺


East Blaxland, NSW to Oxley Island, NSW

(Furtherst points via- Numerkah VIC and Mt. Isa QLD)

📆184 days.

🛣Km’s Travelled to date =18038km

📍Litres of Diesel used= 3330.72L

🚌L/100km average =18.47L

💰$23066.91 = $877.55/week (average)


⛽️Diesel fill ups (incl. jerrys) x37 =$5048.28 ($192.05/wk)

🚙Parking x2 =$7.50

🌿National Parks Pass x1 =$65

Free camp x111 nights =$0

Family stay x27 nights =$0

Low cost camp x39 nights =$244

Medium cost camp x5 nights =$115

National Park camp x2 nights =$50

Moderate cost/ Caravan park x0 nights =$-

⛺️TOTAL ACCOMMODATION x184 =$409 ($15.56/wk)

🚿Amenities useage x4 =$4

👚Washing/ drying x15 =$50

🛁Car/ van wash x6 =$42

TOTAL CLEANING x25 =$96 ($3.65/wk)

🔥Gas Refill x3 =$57.60 ($2.19/wk)

🛒Grocery shops x83 =$9037.03 ($343.80/wk)

🍩Eating out/ beverages x58 =$1525.10 ($58.02/wk)

🍻Alcohol x0 =$0

Free x94 =$0

Fee x28 =$872.55

Prepaid/ other x7 =$0

Pre purchased Tickets x4 =$133.38

🎡TOTAL ATTRACTIONS x129 =$1005.93 ($38.27/wk)

🙏🏼Donations x13 =$21.40

🛍Purchases/ Luxuries x41 =$719.76 ($27.38/wk)

Car x8 =$219.55

Van x26 = $624.03

Business extras x6 =$140.67

Adults x23 =$1047.63

Kids x28 =$380.21

🛠TOTAL INCIDENTALS x95 =$2412.09 ($91.76/wk)

Car x6 =$709.62

Van x6 =$684.72

💵TOTAL INSURANCES x12 =$1394.31 ($53.04/wk)

Amy’s phone x6 =$472.28

Ryan’s phone x6 =$229

Sat phone x6 =$321.31

📱TOTAL PHONE BILLS x18 =$1012.59 ($38.52/wk)

Wix x6 =$39.34

iCloud x6 =$8.94

💻TOTAL APPS x12 =$48.28 ($1.84/wk)


{*Includes very much once off large incidental payment for any unforeseen expense}


Unforeseen expenses not included in main budget.

*Car and van are both personally owned.


Weekly budget GOAL to $880/week

Set monthly targets;

*Diesel =av. $900

*Accommodation =$100

*Groceries =$1500

*Incidentals total =$240

*Eating out total =$140

*Attractions =$190

*Luxuries =$50

Pre-set payments

Insurances =$220.43

Phone =$172.95

Apps =$8.20


Where we have been so far

6 month travel locations map

New Families/ Travellers we’ve met

Galway’s Go Round (September)

One Day We Should (August)

Purcell’s (August)

Munros Making Memories (August)

Livan’ For Now (August)

Nine to Five Evasion (July)

Travel Outback Australia (July)

The Gate Escape (July)

Not Working Tomorrow (July)

Have Gear, Lotsa Beer And Some Idea (July)

Take The Map (June)

Hurst’s On An Adventure (June)

Trip In A Van (May)

Caravanning With Kids (May)

08 Feet Travelling Australia (May)

Hockings Home Away From Home (April)

Wander to Wonder (April)

The BEST of

🎥 Most watched movie; Tim Burton's 'The Nightmare before Christmas'

🎶 Most played car music; Moana Soundtrack

😂 Funniest Moment; Being locked out of the van one night with the boys asleep inside.... One of them got up for a mid-night pee and in their sleep automatically locked the door after coming back in (we were staying at friends house and where still inside).

😣 Hardest Moment; Having a teething toddler for more than half of the trip so far.


bottom of page